At What Level Of Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) Can I Be Charged With A DUI?
In Florida, the legal blood alcohol content while driving is 0.08, but an individual who is below this limit may be charged with DUI if the arresting officer believes that they are displaying signs of mental impairment or otherwise indicating a level of intoxication. For individuals who are under the age of 21, the legal blood alcohol content while driving is much lower, at just 0.02.
How Can I Get My License Reinstated After A First Time DUI Conviction?
Once someone has received a first-time DUI conviction and completed a DUI program, they may be eligible to obtain a hardship driver’s license, which will grant limited driving privileges. Otherwise, a convicted individual’s license will be revoked for a certain period of time, the length of which will depend upon the circumstances of the DUI charge. For example, if an incident of DUI resulted in a serious injury, then the at-fault driver’s license could be revoked for 36 months.
Who Qualifies For A Hardship License?
An individual may qualify for a hardship license if they can demonstrate that they must drive in order to continue running their business, commute to and from a hospital for medical care, or travel for religious purposes, such as to a place of worship. Hardship licenses are not granted for social purposes and are accompanied by certain restrictions. Contact DUI attorney Anthony Chauncey.
What Are The Penalties For A DUI In Florida?
In Florida, there is not a predetermined penalty for a DUI conviction; each case is taken on an individual basis and the particular penalties will depend upon the circumstances involved. For example, the individual’s blood alcohol content at the time of driving, the presence of past convictions on the defendant’s record, or the involvement of an injury with the DUI would affect the penalties that would be applied. Generally speaking, a first-time DUI conviction will be accompanied by a fine of anywhere from $500-$2,000, 50 hours of community service, and/or 6-12 months in prison. Incarceration periods and monetary fines increase for repeat offenders.
When Is An Ignition Interlock Device Fitted In My Car?
An individual will be responsible for installing, maintaining, and reporting on an ignition interlock device (IID) in their vehicle if they have received two DUI convictions. The IID will require the individual to provide a breath sample by blowing into the mouthpiece prior to starting their vehicle.
For more information on DUI Charges In The State Of Florida, a free case evaluation is your next best step. Get the information and legal answers you are seeking by calling (877) 315-5107 today.
Call me for a free case evaluation